Plant of the Month Index

  1. Search works across all columns.
  2. Click the plant's Common Name to view a more detailed page that includes pictures.
  3. Click the plant's color to see an image of the plant.
  4. Click the plant's Genus & Species to see some additional information.
  5. Reset All Filters will also clear the image at the top this page.
  6. Woody - does the plant have a hard stem?
  7. Herbaceaous - does the plant not have a hard stem?
  8. Click Page Help to Show or Hide Help

Deciduous Evergreen All
Woody Herbaceous All
Date Color Common Name Genus & Species Family Type Banner_Name Deciduous Stem
200512 White Toyon Heteromeles arbutifolia Rosaceae - Rose Shrub or Tree toyon Evergreen Woody
200601 Purple Purple Nightshade Solanum xanti Solanaceae - Nightshade Shrub purple_nightshade Evergreen Herbaceous
200602 Red Wild Peony Paeonia californica Paeoniaceae - Peony Perennial Wild_Peony Deciduous Herbaceous
200603 White Ceanothus Ceanothus Species Rhamnaceae - Buckthorn Shrub ceanothus Evergreen Woody
200604 Blue Lupine Lupinus Species Fabaceae - Legume Annual or Perennial lupine
200605 Yellow Monkey Flower Mimulus Species Scrophulariaceae - Figwort Annual or Perennial monkey_flower
200606 White Yucca Hesperoyucca whipplei Agavaceae - Agave Perennial yucca Evergreen Woody
200607 Blue Woolly Blue Curls Trichostema lanatum Lamiaceae - Mint Perennial wooly_blue_curls Evergreen Woody
200608 Pink Lemonade Berry Rhus integrifolia Anacardiaceae - Sumac Shrub or Tree Lemonade_Berry Evergreen Woody
200609 Blue Vinegar Weed Trichostema Lanceolatum Lamiaceae - Mint Annual vinegar_weed
200610 Yellow Cocklebur Xanthium strumarium Asteraceae - Sunflower Annual LOOKING
200611 Odd Sycamore Platanus racemosa Platanaceae - Sycamore Tree Sycamore Deciduous Woody
200612 Yellow Poison Oak Toxicodendron diversilobum Anacardiaceae - Sumac Perennial poison_oak Deciduous Woody
200701 Yellow Tree Tobacco Nicotiana glauca Solanaceae - Nightshade Perennial tree_tobacco Deciduous Woody
200703 Blue Large-Flowered Phacelia Phacelia grandiflora Boraginaceae - Waterleaf Annual LargeFloweredPhacelia
200704 White Wild Cucumber Marah macrocarpus Cucurbitaceae - Gourd Perennial wild_cucumber Deciduous Herbaceous
200705 White Prickly Poppy Argemone munita Papaveraceae - Poppy Perennial or Annual LOOKING
200706 Pink Speckled Clarkia Clarkia cylindrica Onagraceae - Evening Primrose Annual speckled_clarkia
200707 Yellow Calabazilla Cucurbita foetidissima Cucurbitaceae - Gourd Perennial LOOKING Deciduous Herbaceous
200708 White California Buckwheat Eriogonum fasciculatum Polygonaceae - Buckwheat Perennial buckwheat Evergreen Woody
200710 Yellow Turkey Mullein Croton setigerus Euphorbiaceae - Spurge Annual turkey_mullein
200711 Pink California Aster Corethrogyne filaginifolia Asteraceae - Sunflower Perennial wooly_aster Deciduous Woody
200712 Fire's Impact - Volume 1 Fire's Impact - Volume 1 n/a - n/a
200801 Pink Manzanita Arctostaphylos glandulosa Ericaceae - Heath Shrub LOOKING Evergreen Woody
200802 White Eucrypta Eucrypta chrysanthemifolia Boraginaceae - Waterleaf Annual Eucrypta
200803 Pink Shooting Star Primula clevelandii Primulaceae - Primrose Perennial shooting_star Deciduous Herbaceous
200804 White Miners Lettuce Claytonia perfoliata Portulacaceae - Purslane Annual miners_lettuce
200805 White Yellow Pink Mariposa Lily Calochortus species Liliaceae - Lily Perennial mariposa_lily Deciduous Herbaceous
200806 Pink Fringed Indian Pink Silene laciniata Caryophyllaceae - Pink Perennial fringe_indian_pink Deciduous Herbaceous
200807 Red Scarlet Larkspur Delphinium cardinale Ranunculaceae - Buttercup Perennial Scarlet_Larkspur Deciduous Herbaceous
200808 White Elderberry Sambucus mexicana Caprifoliaceae - Honeysuckle Tree elderberry Deciduous Woody
200809 White Datura Datura species Solanaceae - Nightshade Annual datura
200810 White Holly-Leaved Cherry Prunus ilicifolia Rosaceae - Rose Perennial holly_leaf_cherry Evergreen Woody
200811 White Cottonwood Populus fremontii Salicaceae - Willow Tree LOOKING Deciduous Woody
200812 Blue Yerba Santa Eriodichtyon crassifolium Boraginaceae - Waterleaf Shrub yerba_santa Evergreen Woody
200901 Pink Castor Bean Ricinis communis Euphorbiaceae - Spurge Shrub LOOKING Deciduous Woody
200902 White Milkmaids Cardamine californica Brassicaceae - Mustard Perennial Milkmaids Deciduous Herbaceous
200903 Yellow Giant Coreopsis Coreopsis gigantea Asteraceae - Sunflower Perennial giant_coreopsis Deciduous Woody
200904 Blue Blue Dicks Dichelostemma capitatum Amaryllidaceae - Amaryllis Perennial wild_hyacinth Deciduous Herbaceous
200905 Pink Twining Snapdragon Antirrhinum kelloggii Scrophulariaceae - Figwort Annual twining_snapdragon
200906 Pink Elegant Clarkia Clarkia unguiculata Onagraceae - Evening Primrose Annual elegant_clarkia
200907 Red Chalk Live-Forever Dudleya pulverulenta Crassulaceae - Stonecrop Perennial LOOKING Evergreen Herbaceous
200908 Yellow Prickly Pear Opuntia oricola Cactaceae - Cactus Perennial prickly_pear Evergreen Woody
200909 Pink California Fuchsia Epilobium canum Onagraceae - Evening Primrose Perennial california_fuchsia Deciduous Woody
200910 White Coyote Brush Baccharis pilularis Asteraceae - Sunflower Perennial coyote_brush Evergreen Woody
200911 Yellow Bladderpod Isomeris arborea Capparaceae - Caper Shrub Bladderpod_banner Evergreen Woody
200912 Red Red-Stem Filaree Erodium cicutarium Geraniaceae - Geranium Annual red_stemmed_fillaree
201001 Pink Wild radish Raphanus sativus Brassicaceae - Mustard Annual wild_radish
201002 Other Chocolate Lily Fritillaria biflora Liliaceae - Lily Perennial Chocolate_Lily Deciduous Herbaceous
201003 Red Crimson Pitcher Sage Salvia spathacea Lamiaceae - Mint Perennial crimson_pitcher_sage Evergreen Woody
201004 Blue Blue-Eyed Grass Sisyrinchium bellum Iridaceae - Iris Perennial blue_eyed_grass Deciduous Herbaceous
201005 White Virgin’s Bower Clematis lasiantha Ranunculaceae - Buttercup Perennial virgins_bower Deciduous Woody
201006 Yellow Bush Sunflower Encelia californica Asteraceae - Sunflower Perennial coastal_sunflower Evergreen Woody
201007 Pink California Thistle Cirsium occidentale var. californ Asteraceae - Sunflower Perennial LOOKING Evergreen Herbaceous
201008 Pink Hedge Nettle Stachys bullata Lamiaceae - Mint Perennial hedge_nettle Deciduous Herbaceous
201009 Blue Common Vervain Verbena lasiostachys Verbenaceae - Vervain Perennial common_vervain Evergreen Herbaceous
201010 Pink Bush Mallow Malacothamnus fasciculatus Malvaceae - Mallow Shrub bush_mallow Evergreen Woody
201011 Yellow Deerweed Acmispon glaber Fabaceae - Legume Perennial deerweed Deciduous Woody
201012 Pink Wishbone Bush Mirabilis laevis Nyctaginaceae - Four O'Clock Perennial wishbone_bush Evergreen Woody
201101 Pink Indian Warrior Pedicularis densiflora Scrophulariaceae - Figwort Perennial indian_warrior Evergreen Herbaceous
201102 White Chickweed Stellaria media Caryophyllaceae - Pink Annual LOOKING
201103 Blue Purple Parry’s Phacelia Phacelia parryi Boraginaceae - Waterleaf Annual parrys_phacelia
201104 Yellow Mustard Evening Primrose Camissonia californica Onagraceae - Evening Primrose Annual primrose_mustard
201105 Blue Fiesta Flower Pholistoma auritum Boraginaceae - Waterleaf Annual fiesta_flower
201106 Red Humboldt Lily Lilium humboldtii Liliaceae - Lily Perennial humboldt_lily Deciduous Herbaceous
201107 Blue Blue Larkspur Delphinium parryi, Delphinium patens Ranunculaceae - Buttercup Perennial blue_larkspur Deciduous Herbaceous
201108 Pink Henbit Lamium amplexicaule Lamiaceae - Mint Annual LOOKING
201109 Red Indian Paintbrush Castilleja affinis Scrophulariaceae - Figwort Perennial indian_paintbrush Evergreen Herbaceous
201110 White Mule Fat Baccharis salicifolia Asteraceae - Sunflower Shrub mule_fat Deciduous Woody
201111 White Red Shank Adenostoma sparsifolium Roseaceae - Rose Shrub or Tree red_shank Evergreen Woody
201112 White Sumac Malosma laurina Anacardiaceae - Sumac Perennial laurel_sumac Evergreen Woody
201201 Pink Coast Cholla Cylindropuntia prolifera Cactaceae - Cactus Shrub cholla Evergreen Woody
201202 Yellow Johnny-jump-up Viola pedunculata Violaceae - Violet Perennial johnny_jumpups Evergreen Herbaceous
201203 White Prickly Popcorn Flower Cryptantha muricata Boraginaceae - Borage Annual popcorn_flower
201204 Pink Owl’s Clover Castilleja exserta Scrophulariaceae - Figwort Annual owls_clover
201205 Pink Foothill Penstemon Penstemon heterophyllus Scrophulariaceae - Figwort Perennial foothill_penstemmon Deciduous Herbaceous
201206 Yellow Canyon Sunflower Venegazia carpesioides Asteraceae - Sunflower Shrub canyon_sunflower Evergreen Herbaceous
201207 White Chamise Adenostoma fasciculatum Rosaceae - Rose Shrub chamise Evergreen Woody
201208 Pink Wild Rose Rosa californica Rosaceae - Rose Shrub wild_rose Deciduous Woody
201209 Yellow Golden Yarrow Eriophyllum confertiflorum Asteraceae - Sunflower Shrub golden_yarrow Evergreen Woody
201210 White Mugwort Artemisia douglasiana Asteraceae - Sunflower Perennial mugwort Evergreen Herbaceous
201211 White Rattlesnake Weed Euphorbia albomarginata Euphorbiaceae - Spurge Perennial rattlesnake_weed Evergreen Herbaceous
201212 Yellow California Poppy Eschscholzia californica Papaveraceae - Poppy Annual california_poppy
201301 Yellow Common Fiddleneck Amsinckia intermedia Boraginaceae - Borage Annual common_fiddleneck
201302 Yellow Southern Tauschia Tauschia arguta Apiaceae - Carrot Perennial tauschia Evergreen Herbaceous
201303 Blue Fern-Leaf Phacelia Phacelia distans Boraginaceae - Waterleaf Annual fern_leaf_phacelia
201304 Pink Fuchsia-Flowered Gooseberry Ribes speciosum Grossulariaceae - Gooseberry Shrub fuschia_flowered_gooseberry Evergreen Woody
201305 Fire's Impact - Volume 2 Fire's Impact - Volume 2 n/a - n/a
201306 Pink Turkish Rugging Chorizanthe staticoides Polygonaceae - Buckwheat Annual turkish_rugging
201307 White Morning Glory Calystegia macrostegia Convolvulaceae - Morning Glory Perennial morning_glory Deciduous Herbaceous
201308 Yellow Slender Sunflower Helianthus gracilentus Asteraceae - Sunflower Perennial LOOKING Evergreen Herbaceous
201309 Yellow Common Sunflower Helianthus annus Asteraceae - Sunflower Annual LOOKING
201310 White Red Skinned Onion Allium haematochiton Liliaceae - Lily Perennial red_skinned_onion Deciduous Herbaceous
201311 Pink Red Maids Calandrinia menziesii Portulacacae - Purslane Annual Red_Maids
201405 Springs Fire Update 1 Year after the fire n/a - n/a
201406 Pink Twiggy Wreath Stephanomeria virgata Asteraceae - Sunflower Annual Twiggy_Wreath_Banner
201407 Pink Perezia, Sacapellote Acourtia microcephala Asteraceae - Sunflower Perennial Perezia_Banner Deciduous Woody
201408 White Yellow Bleeding Heart Ehrendorferia ochroleuca Papaveraceae - Poppies Perennial bleedingheart-banner Evergreen Herbaceous
201409 White Cliff Aster Malacothrix saxatilis Asteraceae - Sunflower Perennial Cliff_Aster Deciduous Herbaceous
201410 White Soap Plant Chlorogalum pomeridianum Agavaceae - Agave Perennial Soap_Plant_Banner Deciduous Herbaceous
201411 Yellow Sticky Cinquefoil Drymocallis glandulosa Rosaceae - Rose Perennial Sticky_Cinquefoil Deciduous Herbaceous
201412 Yellow Whispering Bells Emmenanthe penduliflora Boraginaceae - Borage Annual Whispering_Bells
201501 Pink Tejon Milk-Aster Stephanomeria cichoriacea Asteraceae - Sunflower Perennial TejonMilkAster Deciduous Woody
201502 Pink Chaparral Currant Ribes malvaceum Grossulariaceae - Gooseberry Perennial ChaparralCurrant Deciduous Woody
201503 Pink Wild Sweet Pea Lathyrus vestitus Fabaceae - Legume Perennial WildSweetPea Deciduous Herbaceous
201504 White Star Lily Toxicoscordion fremontii Melanthiaceae - Deathcamasus Perennial Star_Lily Deciduous Herbaceous
201505 White Rock Daisy Perityle emoryi Asteraceae - Sunflower Annual Rock_Daisy_Banner
201506 Pink Chinese Houses Colinsia heterophylla Plantaginaceae - Plantain Annual Chinese_Houses
201507 Yellow Golden Star Bloomeria crocea Liliaceae - Lily Perennial Golden_Stars Deciduous Herbaceous
201508 Blue Wooly Sapphire Eriastrum sapphirinum Polemoniaceae - Phlox Annual Wooly_Sapphire
201509 Pink Fringed Linanthus Lianthus dianthiflorus Polemoniaceae - Phlox Annual Fringed_Linanthus
201510 Pink Prickly Phlox Linanthus californicus Polemoniaceae - Phlox Perennial Prickly_Phlox Evergreen Herbaceous
201511 White Globe Gilia Gila capitata Polemoniaceae - Phlox Annual Globe_Gilia
201512 Odd Stream Orchid Epipactis gigantea Orchidaceae - Orchid Perennial Stream_Orchid Deciduous Herbaceous
201601 White Globe Lily Calochortus albus Liliaceae - Lily Perennial Globe_Lily Deciduous Herbaceous
201602 Blue Sticky Gilia, Stinky Gilia Allophylum glutinosum Polemoniaceae - Phlox Annual Sticky_Gilia
201603 White Angels Gilia Gilia angelensis Polemoniaceae - Phlox Annual Angels_Gilia
201604 Yellow Stick Leaf, San Luis Blazingstar Mentzelia micrantha Loasaceae - Loasaceae Annual Stick_Leaf
201605 Yellow California Goldfields Lasthenia californica Asteraceae - Sunflower Annual Coastal_Goldfields
201606 Pink Sugar Bush Rhus Ovata Anacardiaceae - Sumac Shrub Sugar_Bush Evergreen Woody
201607 Yellow Royal or Southern Goldfields Lasthenia coronaria Asteraceae - Sunflower Annual Royal_Goldfields
201608 Yellow Lyons Pentachaeta Pentachaeta lyonii Asteraceae - Sunflower Annual Pentachaeta_Lyonii
201609 White White Sage Salvia apiana Lamiaceae - Mint Shrub White_Sage Evergreen Woody
201610 Blue Purple Sage Salvia leucophylla Lamiaceae - Mint Shrub Purple_Sage Evergreen Woody
201611 White Black Sage Salvia mellifera Lamiaceae - Mint Shrub Black_Sage Evergreen Woody
201612 Blue Chia, Golden Chia Salvia columbariae Lamiaceae - Mint Annual Chia
201701 White Narrow Leaved Milkweed Asclepias fascicularis Apocynaceae - Dogbane Perennial Milkweed Deciduous Woody
201702 White Woodland Star Lithopragma affine Saxifragaceae - Saxifrage Perennial Woodland_Star Deciduous Herbaceous
201703 White Wild Heliotrope Heliotropium curassavicum Boraginaceae - Borage Perennial Heliotrope Evergreen Herbaceous
201704 White California Saxifrage Micranthes californica Saxifragaceae - Saxifrage Perennial Ca_Saxifrage Deciduous Herbaceous
201705 Red Heart Leaved Penstemon Keckiella cordifolia Plantaginaceae - Plantain Perennial heartleavedpenstemon Evergreen Woody
201706 White Variable Linanthus Leptosiphon parviflorus Polemoniaceae - Phlox Annual V_Linanthus Deciduous
201707 Yellow California Coreopsis Coreopsis californica Asteraceae - Sunflower Annual C_Coreopsis Deciduous
201708 Pink Peninsular Onion Allium peninsulare Alliaceae - Onion Perennial P_Onion Deciduous Herbaceous
201709 White Willow Herb Clarkia Clarkia epilobioides Onagraceae - Evening Primrose Annual W_Clarkia Deciduous Herbaceous
201710 Pink Checker Bloom Sidalcea sparsifolia Malvaceae - Mallow Perennial Checker_Bloom Deciduous Herbaceous
201711 Yellow Beach Evening Primrose Camissoniopsis cheiranthifolia Onagraceae - Evening Primrose Perennial B_Evening_Primrose Deciduous Herbaceous
201712 Yellow California Buttercup Ranunculus californicus Ranunculaceae - Buttercup Perennial C_Buttercup Deciduous Herbaceous
Back to Top